Coast Starlight Route Atlas

Seattle, Washington to Los Angeles, California
Amtrak Train Numbers 11 (southbound) and 14 (northbound)

Click for Larger Map
Click for Larger Map


Stations (stops) on Amtrak’s Coast Starlight Route

Washington State



   1 Seattle (SEA)    13 Dunsmuir (DUN)    26 Oxnard (OXN)
   2 Tacoma (TAC)    14 Redding (RDD)    27 Simi Valley (SIM)
   3 Olympia (OLW)    15 Chico (CIC)    28 Van Nuys (VNC)
   4 Centralia (CTL)    16 Sacramento (SAC)    29 Burbank (BUR)
   5 Kelso-Longview (KEL)    17 Davis (DAV)    30 Los Angeles (LAX)
   6 Vancouver (VAN)    18 Martinez (MTZ)
   19 Emeryville (EMY)


   20 Oakland (OKJ)
   7 Portland (PDX)    21 San Jose (SJC)
   8 Salem (SLM)    22 Salinas (SNS)
   9 Albany (ALY)    23 Paso Robles (PRB)
 10 Eugene-Springfield (EUG)    24 San Luis Obispo (SLO)
 11 Chemult (CMO)    25 Santa Barbara (SBA)
 12 Klamath Falls (KFS)


Amtrak Route Description

The following has been extracted from Amtrak’s “Coast Starlight” Route Description.

“Widely regarded as one of the most spectacular of all train routes, the Coast Starlight links the greatest cities on the West Coast.  En route daily between Seattle and Los Angeles, the Coast Starlight passes through Portland, Sacramento, the San Francisco Bay Area and Santa Barbara”.

“The scenery along the Coast Starlight route is unsurpassed.  The dramatic snow-covered peaks of the Cascade Range and Mount Shasta, lush forests, fertile valleys and long stretches of Pacific Ocean shoreline provide a stunning backdrop for your journey”.

The rail travel distance between Seattle and Los Angeles via the Coast Starlight is about 1,380 miles and the approximate rail travel time is 35 hours and 15 minutes.