Texas Eagle Route Atlas

Chicago, Illinois to San Antonio, Texas
Amtrak Train Numbers 21 (southbound) and 22 (northbound)

Click for Larger Map
Click for Larger Map


Stations on Amtrak’s Texas Eagle Route




   1 Chicago (CHI)   11 Walnut Ridge (WNR)   21 Fort Worth (FTW)
   2 Joliet (JOL)   12 Little Rock (LRK)   22 Cleburne (CBR)
   3 Pontiac (PON)   13 Malvern (MVN)   23 McGregor (MCG)
   4 Bloomington-Normal (BNL)   14 Arkadelphia (ARK)

15. Hope

  24 Temple (TPL)
   5 Lincoln (LCN)   16 Texarkana (TXA)   25 Taylor (TAY)
   6 Springfield (FMD)   26 Austin (AUS)
   7 Carlinville (CRV)


  27 San Marcos (SMC)
   8 Alton (ALN)   17 Marshall (MHL)   28 San Antonio (SAS)
  18 Longview (LVW)


  19 Mineola (MIN)

   9 St Louis (STL)   20 Dallas (DAL)
  10 Poplar Bluff (PBF)


Amtrak Route Description

The following has been extracted from Amtrak’s “Texas Eagle” Route Guide.

“On the route of the Texas Eagle you will travel between Chicago – ‘The Windy City’ – and San Antonio, ‘The home of the Alamo’ – by way of St. Louis, ‘The Gateway to the West,’ and the sunbelt states of Arkansas and Texas. At San Antonio, the Texas Eagle connects to the Sunset Limited en route to El Paso, Tucson and Los Angeles…”

The rail travel distance between Chicago and San Antonio via the Texas Eagle is a little over 1300 miles. The rail travel time is 32 hours and 10 minutes.